Union Cabinet has approved to include certain areas of Rajasthan under the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India. The meeting was held with PM Narendra Modi as chairperson. It is done by revoking the Constitution Order (C. O.)114 dated 12th February 1981 and promulgation of a new Constitution Order. For expansion of the Scheduled area in the state, no additional funds are required.

This inclusion will help the tribes living in that area to avail the benefit of protective measures under the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India. They will get benefits of direct recruitment in services and professional courses in all educational institutions in Rajasthan. Tribal representation in politics will increase too.


Areas to be covered under Scheduled Areas
This move will benefit the ST living in Banswara, Dungarpur, Pratapgarh and partial areas of Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Pali, Sirohi and Udaipur districts. Under this, 3 complete districts namely,Banswara, Dungarpur, Pratapgarh; 9 complete tehsils, 1 complete block and 46 complete gram panchayats covering 227 villages in district Udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Pali and Sirohi of Rajasthan would be included. This area will now be part of Tribal sub-plan (renamed as Tribal Sub-Scheme).

Why the demand for Scheduled Areas in the State of Rajasthan made?
In year 1950, the Scheduled Areas were first notified. In 1981, the Constitution specified the Scheduled areas for State of Rajasthan. As per the Census 2011, there are changes in population of Scheduled Tribes due to reorganization/creation of new districts. Hence, the Government of Rajasthan has requested for extension of Scheduled Areas in the State of Rajasthan.